Update on Cinnamon for Blood Sugar Control

[home]Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger’s videos at:
http://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/

DESCRIPTION: Cinnamon can no longer to considered a safe and effective treatment for diabetes. The Antioxidants in a Pinch (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidants-in-a-pinch/) video I’m so proud of can be found here (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidants-in-a-pinch/). The Safer Cinnamon (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-safer-cinnamon/) is where I originally brought up the coumarin issue. What about the Oxalates in Cinnamon (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/oxalates-in-cinnamon/)? Not a problem, but the oxalates in too much turmeric (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/oxalates-in-cinnamon/) may be a concern. Superfood Bargains (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/superfood-bargains-2/) is where I ranked foods in terms of antioxidants per unit cost.

I talk more about the potential potency of plants in general in Power Plants (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/power-plants/) and more about spices in particular in videos such as:
· Benefits of Fenugreek Seeds (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/benefits-of-fenugreek-seeds/)
· Saffron for the Treatment of Alzheimer’s (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/saffron-for-the-treatment-of-alzheimers/)
· Saffron for the Treatment of PMS (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/saffron-for-the-treatment-of-pms/)
· Garden Variety Anti-Inflammation (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/garden-variety-anti-inflammation/)

Amla Versus Diabetes (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/amla-versus-diabetes/) explores the use of Indian gooseberries as a way to help control blood sugar, though the best way to deal with diabetes is to prevent (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-prevent-diabetes/) and treat (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-treat-diabetes/) it with a healthy diet. Books I would recommend (in order of publication) are Defeating Diabetes (http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/780000249), Dr. Neal Barnard’s Program for Reversing Diabetes (http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/74649104), and The End of Diabetes (http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/795757572).

As you’re making your Healthy Pumpkin Pie (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/healthy-pumpkin-pie-2/), don’t accidentally add too much nutmeg, the subject of my next video, Don’t Eat Too Much Nutmeg (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dont-eat-too-much-nutmeg/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/update-on-cinnamon-for-blood-sugar-control/ and he’ll try to answer it!

www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: www.bit.ly/NFpodcast
• Subscribe: http://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: www.NutritionFacts.org/donate